Thursday, August 21, 2014

About Us

Who We Are

Day County Housing Development was formed to address the growing need for housing, through the collaboration of Webster Area Development Corporation and Day County Champion Community. In late 2012, it received approval to become its own corporation, with the volunteer board continuing to develop this local housing group.

2018 Board of Directors

  • Derek Sinner, President
    (605) 947-4121
  • Morgan Dorsett, Vice President
    (605) 345-6222
  • Ellen Ellis, Treasurer
    (605) 345-3306
  • Peggy Ninke, Secretary
    (605) 345-3342
  • Ericka Aldrich
  • Melissa Waldner
  • Jalayni Zakrzewski

What We Do

Our mission is to facilitate quality, affordable housing in Day County, South Dakota.

DCHD brought back the Yard of the Week program back to life in 2012 with the help of Webster residents, Day County Arts Council and Reporter & Farmer. The group also worked with GROW South Dakota on the auction of seven Waubay homes affected by flooding.

Since then, we have been active in removing dilapidated housing in Waubay and Webster, purchasing and selling lots, and promoting available properties, programs, and resources. In addition, we commissioned a county-wide Housing Needs Study in 2014 with several city and county sponsors.

We are also an active part of the Housing Vision Team formed in 2014 after the Design:SD Workshop in Webster, which created the Housing Opportunity Listing, has painted several homes, coordinated Housing Block Parties, and facilitated conversations about housing development in the area.

Connect With Us

Email: Click Here  
Find us on Facebook!